GringosAbroad Ecuador

GringosAbroad helps expats and travelers navigate Ecuador. When you use our links, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

Map of the 24 Provinces of Ecuador: Population, Area, Capitals…

Posted in: Ecuador Facts, Ecuador Travel

In this post, you’ll learn about the 24 Ecuador provinces. We also include the population numbers, physical area, and provincial capitals.

Ecuador provinces

Pictured is the highway just outside of Quito, Ecuador.

Ecuador has a lot of provinces – especially for its small size.

Map of Ecuador’s Provinces


Ecuador has a total of 24 provinces with a land area of 283,520 km2. This makes Ecuador larger than 43 of the 50 US states. It falls right between Nevada (slightly larger) and Colorado (slightly smaller).

Each of the provinces are divided into cantons and parroquias. Read all about Cuenca’s Parroquias.

Here is a map and list of all of the provinces (and their capital cities) in Ecuador.

Complete List of Ecuador’s 24 Provinces

#Province of EcuadorCapitalPopulation (2010)Area (km²)
1AzuayCuenca712 1278 639
2BolívarGuaranda183 6413 254
3CañarAzogues164 5243 908
4CarchiTulcán225 1843 699
5ChimborazoRiobamba458 5815 287
6CotopaxiLatacunga409 2056 569
7El OroMachala600 6595 988
8EsmeraldasEsmeraldas491 16814 893
9GalápagosPuerto Baquerizo Moreno25 1248 010
10GuayasGuayaquil3 645 48317 139
11ImbaburaIbarra398 2444 599
12LojaLoja453 96611 027
13Los RíosBabahoyo778 1156 254
14ManabíPortoviejo1 369 78018 400
15Morona SantiagoMacas147 94025 690
16NapoTena103 69713 271
17OrellanaFrancisco de Orellana136 39620 773
18PastazaPuyo83 93329 520
19PichinchaQuito2 576 2879 612
20Santa ElenaSanta Elena308 6933 763
21Santo Domingo de los TsáchilasSanto Domingo410 9374 180
22SucumbíosNueva Loja176 47218 612
23TungurahuaAmbato504 5833 334
24Zamora ChinchipeZamora91 37610 556

Division of Ecuador’s Provinces by Region

  1. La  Sierra (Andean Highlands): 10 provinces (Carchi, Imbabura, Pichincha, Cotopaxi, Tungurahua, Bolívar, Chimborazo, Cañar, Azuay, Loja)
  2. La Costa (Coast): 7 provinces (Esmeraldas, Manabí,  Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas, Los Ríos, Santa Elena, Guayas, El Oro)
  3. El Oriente (Amazon jungle): 6 provinces (Sucumbíos, Napo, Orellana, Pastaza, Morona Santiago, Zamora Chinchipe)
  4. Insular Region (Galapagos): 1 province (Galápagos)

Learn about the beaches on Ecuador’s Pacific coast.

Best beaches in EcuadorMore reading: Buyers Guide to the Best Sun Protection Hats

Ecuador’s 8 Most Popular Provinces

According to interest on our site and from our experience, here are Ecuador’s 8 most popular provinces. This is not scientific and is based on tourism and relocation.

  1. Galápagos (Galápagos)
  2. Azuay (Cuenca)
  3. Pichincha (Quito)
  4. Guayas (Guayaquil)
  5. Santa Elena (Salinas)
  6. Manabí (Manta, Bahía de Caráquez, Puerto Cayo)
  7. Loja (Loja)
  8. Tungurahua (Baños de Agua Santa)

Learn more about cities in Ecuador.

Now it’s your turn!

What provinces are you planning on visiting? Which area is your favorite?

You might also enjoy:

Check out our guides:

Meet the Author

Bryan Haines is co-editor of GringosAbroad - Ecuador's largest blog for expats and travelers. He is a travel blogger and content marketer. He is also co-founder of ClickLikeThis (GoPro tutorial blog) and Storyteller Media (content marketing for travel brands). Work with GringosAbroad.

3 comments… add one
  • Sean Feb 13, 2019, 11:30 am

    Super helpful! Thanks!

  • Jonny Mar 19, 2015, 1:59 pm


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.